études pré-cliniques SVF

“Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue adipose vs. other adult stem cells” 

SOURCE : Aronowitz JA, Lockhart RA, Hakakian CS. Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue adipose vs. other adult stem cells SpringerPlus 2015;4:713.

Résumé : La décomposition de la matrice extracellulaire obtenue avec les enzymes protéolytiques offre une efficacité significativement supérieure au processus de séparation. La SVF isolée par des méthodes mécaniques est tout aussi sûre, moins coûteuse et prend moins de temps; mais le produit contient une plus grande fréquence de cellules mononucléées sanguines et moins de cellules progénitrices.

“Comparison of multi-lineage cells from human adipose tissue and bone marrow”

SOURCE : De Ugarte DA, Morizono K, Elbarbary A, et al. Comparison of multi-lineage cells from human adipose tissue and bone marrow Cells, tissues, organs 2003;174:101-9.

Résumé : L’expression de molécules d’adhésion ayant des fonctions connues pour réguler la prise de référence ou la mobilisation de cellules souches diffère entre ces 2 préparations cellulaires. Les ADSC expriment la CD48d (4-intégrine, qui forme un hétérodimère avec CD29 pour créer un antigène d’activation 4 très tardif, VLA-4, le principal ligand apparenté à la molécule d’adhésion cellulaire vasculaire 1 [VCAM-1] -CD106), alors que les cellules dérivés de la moelle osseuse ne le font pas. De même, les ADSC expriment des taux élevés de CD54 (molécule d’adhésion intercellulaire-1 [ICAM-1]) alors que les BMMSC ont une expression très faible de cette molécule, une observation importante compte tenu du rôle important de l’interaction entre ces molécules réglementer le trafic de cellules souches.

“Adipose tissue-derived multipotent stromal cells have a higher immunomodulatory capacity than their bone marrow-derived counterparts”

SOURCE : Adipose tissue-derived multipotent stromal cells have a higher immunomodulatory capacity than their bone marrow-derived counterparts. Stem cells translational medicine 2013;2:455-63.

Résumé : Les différences dans la sécrétion de cytokines entraînent des effets immunomodulateurs plus puissants de la SVF d’origine adipeuse que les CSM dérivées de la moelle osseuse. Par conséquent, des nombres plus faibles de SVF dérivés de tissus adipeux évoquent le même niveau d’immunomodulation. L’expression de molécules d’adhésion ayant des fonctions connues pour réguler la prise de référence ou la mobilisation de cellules souches diffère entre ces 2 préparations cellulaires.

Autologue vs. Allogénique

“Concise Review: A Safety Assessment of Adipose-Derived Cell Therapy in Clinical Trials: A Systematic Review of Reported Adverse Events” 

SOURCE : Toyserkani NM, Jorgensen MG, Tabatabaeifar S, Jensen CH, Sheikh SP, Sorensen JA.Concise Review: A Safety Assessment of Adipose-Derived Cell Therapy in Clinical Trials: A Systematic Review of Reported Adverse Events. Stem cells translational medicine 2017;6:1786-94.

Résumé : L’innocuité de la SVF allogénique a été mise en doute, notamment en ce qui concerne l’immunogénicité. Il apparaît qu’entre 19 et 34% des patients développeront des anticorps anti-HLA de classe I, augmentant ainsi le risque de traitements ultérieurs.

Caractérisation de la composition cellulaire SVF

“Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue adipose vs. other adult stem cells” 

SOURCE : Aronowitz JA, Lockhart RA, Hakakian CS. Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue adipose vs. other adult stem cells SpringerPlus 2015;4:713.

Résumé : La décomposition de la matrice extracellulaire obtenue avec les enzymes protéolytiques offre une efficacité significativement supérieure au processus de séparation. La SVF isolée par des méthodes mécaniques est tout aussi sûre, moins coûteuse et prend moins de temps; mais le produit contient une fréquence plus élevée de cellules mononucléées sanguines et moins de cellules progénitrices.

Publications utilisant l’ICELLATOR® ou ADIPASE®

“Stromal vascular fraction isolated from lipo-aspirates using an automated processing system: bench and bed analysis” 

SOURCE : Doi K, Tanaka S, Iida H, et al. Stromal vascular fraction isolated from lipo-aspirates using an automated processing system: bench and bed analysis. J Tissue Eng Regen Med 2013;7:864-70.

Résumé : La SVF hétérogène, contenant des cellules souches / progénitrices (ADSC) dérivées du tissu adipeux, peut être facilement isolée par digestion enzymatique du tissu adipeux aspiré. Dans les milieux cliniques, cependant, un contrôle strict des procédures techniques selon les procédures opératoires standard et la validation des conditions de traitement des cellules sont requis. Par conséquent, nous avons évalué l’efficacité et la fiabilité d’un système automatisé d’isolement de la SVF à partir du tissu adipeux. Les cellules SVF, fraîchement isolées en utilisant la procédure automatisée, ont montré un nombre et une viabilité comparables à celles de l’isolement manuel.

“Comparison of intraoperative procedures for isolation of clinical grade stromal vascular fraction for regenerative purposes: a systematic review”

SOURCE : van Dongen JA, Tuin AJ, Spiekman M, Jansma J, van der Lei B, Harmsen MC. Comparison of intraoperative procedures for isolation of clinical grade stromal vascular fraction for regenerative purposes: a systematic review. J Tissue Eng Regen Med 2017.

Résumé : L’application peropératoire de la SVF du tissu adipeux nécessite une procédure d’isolement rapide et efficace du tissu adipeux. Cette revue a été réalisée pour évaluer et comparer systématiquement les procédures actuellement utilisées pour l’isolement peropératoire de la SVF cellulaire (cSVF) et de la SVF tissulaire (tSVF) contenant encore la matrice extracellulaire. Cependant, la majorité des procédures d’isolement peropératoire prennent moins de temps que les groupes témoins non peropératoires. Les procédures d’isolement peropératoire prennent moins de temps que les groupes témoins non interopératoires avec un rendement cellulaire, une viabilité des cellules et une composition de la SVF similaires, et sont donc plus adaptées à une utilisation en clinique. Néanmoins, aucune des procédures d’isolement peropératoire n’a pu être désignée comme procédure privilégiée pour isoler la SVF.

“Point-of-Care Adipose-Derived Stromal Vascular Fraction Cell Isolation and Expanded Polytetrafluoroethylene Graft Sodding”

SOURCE : Stuart K. Williams, PhD, Marvin E. Morris, MD, Paul E. Kosnik, PhD, Kevin D. Lye, MD, Gary D. Gentzkow, MD, Charles B. Ross, MD, Amit J. Dwevidi, MD, and Leigh B. Kleinert. Point-of-Care Adipose-Derived Stromal Vascular Fraction Cell Isolation and Expanded Polytetrafluoroethylene Graft Sodding. TISSUE ENGINEERING: Part C Vol. 23, Number 8, 2017.

Résumé : Les populations de cellules SVF dérivées d’adipose sont en cours d’évaluation pour de nombreuses applications cliniques. L’étude a évalué une technologie de point de traitement, le système d’isolement cellulaire TGI 1000 de Tissue Genesis, pour effectuer un isolement automatisé des cellules SVF dérivées des tissus adipeux à utiliser dans la fabrication d’une greffe vasculaire dans la salle d’opération En conclusion, le « TGI 1000 » a fourni un nombre de cellules suffisant pour effectuer le sodding intra-opératoire des greffes dans la salle d’opération.

Pour plus d’informations sur les publications cliniques relatives à Tissue Genesis, consultez :

https://okyanos.com/cell-therapy-clinical-research/

SVF Preclinical Studies

“Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue adipose vs. other adult stem cells” 

SOURCE: Aronowitz JA, Lockhart RA, Hakakian CS. Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue. SpringerPlus 2015;4:713.

Summary: The breakdown of the extracellular matrix achieved with proteolytic enzymes affords significantly greater efficiency to the separation process. SVF isolated through mechanical methods is equally safe, less costly and less time consuming; but, the product contains a higher frequency of blood mononuclear cells and fewer progenitor cells.

“Comparison of multi-lineage cells from human adipose tissue and bone marrow”

SOURCE: De Ugarte DA, Morizono K, Elbarbary A, et al. Comparison of multi-lineage cells from human adipose tissue and bone marrow. Cells, tissues, organs 2003;174:101-9.

Summary: The expression of adhesion molecules with known functions in regulating the homing or mobilization of stem cells differs between these 2 cell preparations. ADSCs express CD48d (4-integrin, which forms a heterodimer with CD29 to create very late activation antigen-4, VLA-4, the main cognate ligand for vascular cell adhesion molecule-1 [VCAM-1]–CD106 ligand), whereas cells derived from the bone marrow do not. Similarly, ADSCs express high levels of CD54 (intercellular adhesion molecule-1 [ICAM-1]), whereas BMMSCs have very low expression of this molecule, an important observation, given the important role of the interaction between these adhesion molecules and their ligands in regulating stem cell trafficking.

“Adipose tissue-derived multipotent stromal cells have a higher immunomodulatory capacity than their bone marrow-derived counterparts”

SOURCE: Melief SM, Zwaginga JJ, Fibbe WE, Roelofs H. Adipose tissue-derived multipotent stromal cells have a higher immunomodulatory capacity than their bone marrow-derived counterparts. Stem cells translational medicine 2013;2:455-63.

Summary: Differences in cytokine secretion cause adipose-derived SVF to have more potent immunomodulatory effects than bone marrow-derived MSCs. Therefore, lower numbers of adipose-derived SVF evoke the same level of immunomodulation. The expression of adhesion molecules with known functions in regulating the homing or mobilization of stem cells differs between these 2 cell preparations.

Autologous vs. Allogeneic

“Concise Review: A Safety Assessment of Adipose-Derived Cell Therapy in Clinical Trials: A Systematic Review of Reported Adverse Events” 

SOURCE: Toyserkani NM, Jorgensen MG, Tabatabaeifar S, Jensen CH, Sheikh SP, Sorensen JA.Concise Review: A Safety Assessment of Adipose-Derived Cell Therapy in Clinical Trials: A Systematic Review of Reported Adverse Events. Stem cells translational medicine 2017;6:1786-94.

Summary: The safety of allogeneic SVF has been questioned, especially regarding immunogenicity. It appears that between 19-34% of patients will develop HLA class I antibodies, thereby increasing the risk of subsequent treatments.

Characterization of SVF Cellular Composition

“Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue adipose vs. other adult stem cells” 

SOURCE: Aronowitz JA, Lockhart RA, Hakakian CS. Mechanical versus enzymatic isolation of stromal vascular fraction cells from adipose tissue. SpringerPlus 2015;4:713.

Summary: The breakdown of the extracellular matrix achieved with proteolytic enzymes affords significantly greater efficiency to the separation process. SVF isolated through mechanical methods is equally safe, less costly and less time consuming; but, the product contains a higher frequency of blood mononuclear cells and fewer progenitor cells.

Publications using the ICELLATOR® or ADIPASE®

“Stromal vascular fraction isolated from lipo-aspirates using an automated processing system: bench and bed analysis” 

SOURCE: Doi K, Tanaka S, Iida H, et al. Stromal vascular fraction isolated from lipo-aspirates using an automated processing system: bench and bed analysis. J Tissue Eng Regen Med 2013;7:864-70.

Summary: The heterogeneous SVF, containing adipose-derived stem/progenitor cells (ADSCs), can be easily isolated through enzymatic digestion of aspirated adipose tissue. In clinical settings, however, strict control of technical procedures according to standard operating procedures and validation of cell-processing conditions are required. Therefore, we evaluated the efficiency and reliability of an automated system for SVF isolation from adipose tissue. SVF cells, freshly isolated using the automated procedure, showed comparable number and viability to those from manual isolation.

“Comparison of intraoperative procedures for isolation of clinical grade stromal vascular fraction for regenerative purposes: a systematic review”

SOURCE: van Dongen JA, Tuin AJ, Spiekman M, Jansma J, van der Lei B, Harmsen MC. Comparison of intraoperative procedures for isolation of clinical grade stromal vascular fraction for regenerative purposes: a systematic review. J Tissue Eng Regen Med 2017.

Summary: Intraoperative application of the SVF of adipose tissue requires a fast and efficient isolation procedure of adipose tissue. This review was performed to systematically assess and compare procedures currently used for the intraoperative isolation of cellular SVF (cSVF) and tissue SVF (tSVF) that still contain the extracellular matrix. The majority of intraoperative isolation procedures are less time consuming than nonintraoperative control groups, however. Intraoperative isolation procedures are less time-consuming than nonintraoperative control groups with similar cell yield, viability of cells and composition of SVF, and therefore more suitable for use in the clinic. Nevertheless, none of the intraoperative isolation procedures could be designated as the preferred procedure to isolate SVF.

“Point-of-Care Adipose-Derived Stromal Vascular Fraction Cell Isolation and Expanded Polytetrafluoroethylene Graft Sodding”

SOURCE: Stuart K. Williams, PhD, Marvin E. Morris, MD, Paul E. Kosnik, PhD, Kevin D. Lye, MD, Gary D. Gentzkow, MD, Charles B. Ross, MD, Amit J. Dwevidi, MD, and Leigh B. Kleinert. Point-of-Care Adipose-Derived Stromal Vascular Fraction Cell Isolation and Expanded Polytetrafluoroethylene Graft Sodding. TISSUE ENGINEERING: Part C Vol. 23, Number 8, 2017.

Summary: Adipose-derived SVF cell populations are being evaluated for numerous clinical applications. The study evaluated a point-of-care technology, the Tissue Genesis ‘‘TGI 1000’’ Cell Isolation System, to perform an automated isolation of adipose-derived SVF cells to be used in the fabrication of a tissue-engineered vascular graft in the operating room. In conclusion, the ‘‘TGI 1000,’’ provided sufficient cell numbers to perform intra-operating sodding of grafts in the operating room.

For more information on clinical publications related to Tissue Genesis, go to:

https://okyanos.com/cell-therapy-clinical-research/